Board of Zoning Adjustment


The Clay County BZA is authorized by the Missouri State Revised Statutes (RSMo) Chapter 64, particularly Section 64.660

The BZA generally hears the following requests:
•Variance - a request to vary from the standard requirements within the Clay County Land Development Code (LDC) [Section 151-3.11]
•Written Interpretations - appeals of staff's written interpretation of the LDC [Section 151-3.13]
•Administrative Appeals - appeals from administrative staff's determinations of the LDC [Section 151-3.14]

The BZA typically meets the fourth Tuesday of every month at 5:30 pm Central Standard Time, Commission Hearing Room, 3rd Floor, Administration Building (Old Courthouse Building).  This schedule may vary on occasion, so the public is encouraged to verify the date and time of upcoming BZA meetings by contacting the Clay County Planning & Zoning Department at (816) 407-3380 or Email.

By-laws of the BZA.

The BZA consists of five residents of the County, but no more than two can be residents of the incorporated areas (i.e. cities) of the County and no more than one may be a member of the Clay County Planning & Zoning Commission (PZC).  Staff support is provided by the Clay County Planning & Zoning Department.

Randall Morris 
Buddy Raasch 
Larry Whitton 
Kristi Soligo Fleshman 
Mark Beggs 

Clay County, Mo.


Buddy Raasch

Planning & Zoning Department
Kipp Jones, Manager
(816) 407-3380

Term Length
Four years

Board Type
Commission appointed

Application Deadlines & Meeting Dates:

(meetings scheduled only if an application as been submitted)

Application Deadline Meeting Date
12/21/2020 01/26/2021
01/25/2021 02/23/2021
02/22/2021 03/23/2021
03/22/2021 04/27/2021
04/26/2021 05/25/2021
05/24/2021 06/22/2021
06/21/2021 07/27/2021
07/26/2021 08/24/2021
08/23/2021 09/28/2021
09/27/2021 10/26/2021
10/25/2021 11/23/2021
11/22/2021 12/28/2021