Mental Health Board

In November 1980, in response to the need for additional funds to support comprehensive mental health services, the citizens of Clay, Platte and Ray Counties passed a levy of ten cents per hundred dollars on the assessed value of real estate.

In 1981, Clay, Platte and Ray Counties agreed to establish the Clay, Platte, Ray Mental Health Board of Trustees. The Board is composed of county commission appointed representatives from each of the three counties. The responsibilities of the Board as stated in the bylaws are to:

• Purchase services from existing community mental health centers, mental health clinics, or other public facilities or not-for-profit corporations based in Platte, Clay, and Ray counties.

• Administer and disperse community mental health funds for the provision of any comprehensive mental health service.

• Contract with existing public facilities or not-for-profit corporations to provide services for residents of the three-county area.

• Submit information as required on the disbursement of monies from the community mental health fund to the Missouri State Department of Mental Health by such date as the letter specifies in order to facilitate annual preparation of regional and state mental health plan.

Since it’s inception in 1981, the Clay, Platte, Ray Mental Health Board has annually disbursed available funds to support behavioral health services and programs in the three county area.

The Mental Health Board is constituted by the Missouri State Revised Statutes (RSMo) Chapter 205.970

The Clay, Platte, Ray Mental Health Board of Trustees meet the fourth Wednesday of each month at 5:15 p.m. at their offices in the Human Resources building on the Maple Woods Community College campus. The board generally does not meet in December and January.

Sandra P. Ferguson, Chair - Platte County
Joan Barrett
Ronald Thiewes
Roger Bruning - Ray County
Sharon Callahan, Treasurer - Clay County
Ronald Thiewes - Clay County
Beverly Sue Ryan - Clay County
Cindy Gettel - Platte County
Haley L. Eisler - Board Administrator

Clay County, Mo.


3100 NE 83rd Street, #2700
Kansas City, MO 64119 
Ph: (816) 468-1772

Mental Health Board Web Site