Watch our live announcement HERE
Click HERE to view or pay your 2016 tax bill.
Click HERE to view important reminders for this year.
PREPAYMENTS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30!
Thank you, Clay County, for prepaying over $545,000 in 2016!
When you prepay, you send us the same exact money you will be responsible to pay anyway, but it gets into the hands of your schools, ambulance and fire districts, hospitals, and public service providcers up to 60 days earlier.... AND you get to relax at the holidays and spend your hard earned money on gifts for friends and family instead of sending a chunk to us.
WIN... WIN... WIN!
SPECIAL NOTE FOR SENIOR CITIZENS, LOW INCOME, AND DISABLED CLAY COUNTY TAXPAYERS: If you resided in Missouri for ALL of 2016, and you are EITHER over 65 or 100% disabled, AND your total income is less than $30,000 (single) or $34,000 (married filing combined), you may be eligible for the Missouri Property Tax Credit. You must pay your County taxes in full, then use your paid receipt to apply for a credit on your Missouri state taxes. Click here for complete information on this credit.
SCAM ALERT! Clay County will never request your personal banking information over the phone. If someone asks for this information, it is a scam. Please do not give your banking information over the phone to anyone claiming to be collecting delinquent property taxes. If you do have delinquent taxes, the Office of the Collector is more than willing to discuss the matter with you at any time. Call us at 816-407-3200.
Click here for updates and helpful tips from our Facebook page.
Click here and type "NEWSLETTER" in the subject line to subscribe to our emailed newsletter.
ELECTRONIC PAYMENT FEES (ONLINE AND IN OUR OFFICES)
VISA Debit cards
Flat fee of $3.95
All other debit cards and all credit cards (we accept VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express)
2.45%, no minimum
E-check (use the routing and account number from the bottom of your check)
Flat fee of $1.45
***Beginning Dec. 1, it will be FREE to pay online using an e-check. We are working now to eliminate this fee for our busiest season.***
Fees charged by our online payment processor ARE NOT PAID to Clay County. They are charged by the bank that processes our payments, and are not something we can control, or waive. Receipts for use at the DMV are not accessible immediately when you pay, but may be viewed online or printed at the same website where you paid after 12:00 noon the next business day. PARTIAL PAYMENTS ARE NOW ACCEPTED ONLINE. Please type carefully. If your e-check is rejected because you typed your routing or account number wrong, it will be treated as a bounced check, and all fees, penalties, and interest applicable to bounced checks will apply. PLEASE DO NOT EVER STOP PAYMENT ON A CHECK ISSUED TO OUR OFFICE unless you contact us first. When we receive your check, we process it and give the money to the taxing jurisdictions as quickly as possible. When you stop payment, we have to take money back from them. If you let us know what you are doing, we will make notes and make sure it is handled correctly in our software. Otherwise, we will treat a stopped payment as a bounced check. Also, unscrupulous people often pay by check, get their receipt, go the DMV to renew tags, then stop payment on the check. If you are an honest person, please contact us to let us know why you need to stop payment and pay by alternate means ASAP.
TAX BILLS WILL BE MAILED IN NOVEMBER
- If your mortgage company pays your taxes out of an escrow account, you may not receive a bill—it may have been sent directly to them. PLEASE VERIFY tax payments with your mortgage company.
- All taxes are due by Dec. 31, whether or not you receive a bill.
- All city taxes are now included on your County bill.
NEED TO MAKE A PAYMENT WHEN WE'RE CLOSED?
Use our outdoor drop boxes!
If you drop your payment in our outdoor boxes, you can pick up your receipt or access it online in 3 business days, or we can mail it to you.