Planning & Zoning Commission (PZC)

planning-and-zoning-commission.jpgThe Clay County PZC is constituted by the Missouri State Revised Statutes (RSMo) Chapter 64.  While Clay County is considered a first class county, at this time it operates under the rules of a second/third class county pursuant to 64.510-590 and 64.905-906

The PZC holds many duties, but mainly focuses on aproval of the Clay County Comprehensive Plan in addition to hearing land development requests such as amendments (changes) to the Land Development Code, Zoning Map Amendments (Rezonings), Subdivisions (Preliminary Plats and/or Final Plats), Conditional Use Permits (CUPs), Vacations of Streets and Easements, amongst others.


The PZC typically meets the first Tuesday of every month at 6:30 pm Central Standard Time, Commission Hearing Room, 3rd Floor, Administration Building (Old Courthouse Building).  This schedule may vary on occasion, so the public is encouraged to verify the date and time of upcoming PZC meetings by contacting the Clay County Planning & Zoning Department at (816) 407-3380 or Email .


For information on current and past PZC meetings, please click here.


Click here to view the by-laws of the PZC.


The PZC consists of one member from each of Clay County's five townships containing a portion of unincorporated area, plus the Highway Administrator of the Clay County Highway Department.  Staff support is provided by the Clay County Planning & Zoning Department.





Liberty Township






Kearney Township



Jim Carlson,



Washington Township



Thomas Decker,



Fishing River Township



David Rhodus


Platte Township


Chris Higgins


Highway Engineer /

Head of Highway Department



 Terri Griffen

on this page