
 

 

Bidding on parcels available for purchase after 3
rd

 offering at tax sale 

 

Properties that have received no bids after being offered at annual tax sale for at least three years are available 

for purchase at any time, for a compromised amount.  The state statute regarding such properties is RSMO 

140.250 stating that these properties may be sold for any amount, at any time, without further notice to the 

owner. 

 

Beginning ten calendar days after the close of the annual tax sale, properties that have been offered at least three 

times will be available for purchase in the following manner. 

 

1. For a period of 10 days following the annual tax sale, all eligible properties will first be offered to the 

county land trustee, public interest organizations, and the cities in which each parcel may be found.  

After such time, any unpurchased properties will be considered available to the general public. 

 

2. The owner of the property in question shall have the right to pay the taxes due at any time prior to the 

minute the Collector’s office receives payment of the amount bid by any purchaser, including the county 

land trustee, a public interest organization, or the city in which the property is located. 

 

3. To make a bid, the potential bidder is required to submit a new affidavit for each month they submit 

bids.  The minimum bid will be set at 10% of the county taxes due at the time of the 3
rd

 sale, plus any 

subsequent taxes that have come due, plus $27.00 to cover the cost of recording the deed.  The list of 

properties is available online or by calling the Collector’s office.   

 

4. Each listing will contain the full amount of taxes due and designate the amount set for a minimum bid.  

Bids may be submitted in writing, or by email. Bids must include the parcel number of the property 

being bid upon, and the amount of the bid. The official listing from the Collector’s office may also be 

copied and the bid amount written in the open space next to the minimum bid.   Bids may be mailed to 

Clay County Collector, Attn:  Tax Sale Processing, One Courthouse Square, Liberty, MO 64068 or 

emailed to collector@claycountymo.gov.   

 

5. All bids will be held in confidence until the first business day of each month, at which time they will be 

opened and the properties awarded based on the highest bid from properly registered bidders.  All 

bidders must have submitted a signed, notarized affidavit.  Per RSMo 140.190, bidders must be Missouri 

residents OR submit a non-resident affidavit and designate a Clay County resident to act as your agent.  

Contact our office if you are a non-resident and wish to bid. 

 

6. Payment for all properties purchased must be in cash, cashier check, or money order.  Payment must be 

made by 5:00 pm on the third business day after the bid is awarded. If payment is not received or the 

bidder is disqualified for any reason including part/full ownership of real estate or personal property on 

which the taxes are delinquent, the property will be awarded to the next highest bidder. 

 

7. ALL BIDS MUST BE ACKNOWLEDGED BY THE COLLECTOR’S OFFICE. If you do not receive 

acknowledgement of your bid, do not assume it has been accepted or will be considered. 

 

Missouri statutes do indicate that a Collector’s Deed issued under these circumstances will give the purchaser a 

superior right over all other liens, except those for real property taxes, but purchasers are STRONGLY 

encouraged to consult with an attorney and to conduct a title search before proceeding.  In many cases, 

purchasers will have to file a quiet title action to get good title, and the court’s interpretation of that provision 

will prevail over the interpretation of the Collector’s office. 

 


